LISTEN: Bob Dylan Shares New Track From Forthcoming Bootleg Series

Fragments – Time Out of Mind Sessions (1996-1997) comes out January 27th

Bob Dylan Bob Dylan – Fragments – Time Out of Mind Sessions (1996-1997): The Bootleg Series Vol. 17, Columbia/Legacy 2023

The highly anticipated 17th volume of the Bob Dylan Bootleg Series, Fragments – Time Out of Mind Sessions (1996-1997), comes out on January 27th.

But the collection’s esteemed vessel, Legacy Recordings, is giving fans another sneak preview with the release of “Not Dark Yet” (Version 1), which harbors a warmer, more organic nature than the atmospheric album edition, offering a truly revealing listen to those curious about the direction this new box goes. 

In a nutshell, Fragments – Time Out of Mind Sessions (1996-1997): The Bootleg Series Vol.17 follows the evolution of songs written for the album, from intimate early incarnations in the previously unreleased 1996 Teatro sessions featuring Dylan (vocals, guitar, and piano), Daniel Lanois (guitar and organ), Tony Garnier (bass) and Tony Mangurian (drums and percussion) through incandescent live renditions (also previously unreleased) showcasing Dylan and his touring ensemble channeling the songs on-stage from 1998-2001.

Disc One premieres the 2022 mixes, conducted by Michael H. Brauer at Brauer Sound Studios, of the eleven original recordings on Time Out of Mind,  sharing with listeners what liner notes writer Steven Hyden describes as an album that “has been remixed to sound more like how the songs came across when the musicians originally played them in the room, without the effects and processing that Lanois applied later.” This version will also be available in immersive audio, a first for a Bob Dylan recording.

Fragments unboxed (Image: Legacy Recordings)

Discs Two and Three, meanwhile, come loaded with rare outtakes and alternate versions of songs written for Time Out of Mind including four original Dylan compositions–“Dreamin’ of You,” “Red River Shore,” “Mississippi” (later re-recorded for “Love & Theft” in 2001) and “Marchin’ to the City”–not included on the canonical 1997 tracklist. A fifth unreleased performance, Dylan’s interpretation of “The Water is Wide,” a traditional folk song of Scottish origin (and spiritual precursor of “Highlands,” Time Out of Mind’s epic closer), is also included here. 

Disc Four compiles a cache of live performances from 1998-2001 featuring Dylan and his touring ensemble: Larry Campbell (guitar, mandolin, pedal steel, and slide guitar), Bucky Baxter (pedal steel and slide guitar, 1998-1999), Charlie Sexton (guitar, 2000-2001), Tony Garnier (bass) and David Kemper (drums). All tracks on Disc Four are previously unavailable with the exception of “Make You Feel My Love” (May 21, 1998, Los Angeles), which was previously released on the “Things Have Changed” maxi-single.

Disc Five brings together studio recordings of the four Dylan songs omitted from the original Time Out of Mind track list as well as exemplary live performances of “Cold Irons Bound” and “Tryin’ To Get To Heaven.” The twelve tracks on Disc Five were previously available on Columbia/Legacy’s The Bootleg Series Vol. 8: Tell Tale Signs: Rare and Unreleased 1989–2006, including studio recordings of the four songs Dylan left off Time Out of Mind as well as live takes on such LP highlights as “Cold Irons Bound” (6/11/04, Bonnaroo Music Festival) and “Tryin’ to Get to Heaven” (10/5/00, London, England).

Listen to “Not Dark Yet” (Version 1) below. 


AUDIO:Bob Dylan “Not Dark Yet” (Version 1)



 You May Also Like

Ron Hart

Ron Hart is the Editor-in-Chief of Rock and Roll Globe. Reach him on Twitter @MisterTribune.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *