Willie Nelson To Release Second LP This Year

Bluegrass comes out on September 15 via Legacy Recordings 

Willie Nelson (Image: YouTube)

Just a few short months following the release of I Don’t Know a Thing About Love, Willie Nelson has another new album coming out in 2023.

Entitled Bluegrass, the LP will be in stores and online on September 15th through Legacy Recordings, and features Willie grassing up 12 of his favorite self-penned tunes from throughout his career. Among the classic tunes chosen for Nelson’s 151st title includes “On the Road Again,” “Yesterday’s Wine,” “Still is Still Moving to Me” and the Waylon Jennings co-write “Good Hearted Woman.”

Produced by longtime musical collaborator Buddy Cannon, Bluegrass features a host of acclaimed musicians including Barry Bales (upright bass), Ron Block (banjo), Aubrey Haynie (fiddle), Rob Ickes (dobro), Josh Martin (acoustic guitar), Mickey Raphael (harmonica), Seth Taylor (mandolin), Bobby Terry (acoustic guitar, gut string guitar), Dan Tyminski (mandolin); backing vocals are provided by Wyatt Beard, Buddy Cannon and Melonie Cannon. 

The album’s cover art, meanwhile, was created by Willie’s son Micah Nelson, whose previous artwork can be seen on I Don’t Know a Thing About Love and 2020’s First Rose of Spring as well as 2013’s autobiographical New York Times bestseller Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die: Musings from the Road.

Bluegrass is Willie’s homage to the old time string music from Appalachia that directly inspired the way Nelson wrote songs when he was starting out in music. It’s hard to believe this is his first tribute to the genre. And it’s real cool to see him using his own back catalog for source material as well, breathing new oxygen into some of his most beloved tunes. 

Willie Nelson Bluegrass, Legacy Recordings 2023

Also slated for Willie’s 90th birthday year is the upcoming broadcast plans for Willie Nelson & Family, a new five-part film documentary series directed by Thom Zimny and Oren Moverman that premiered in January at the Sundance Film Festival. And currently in theaters is Willie Nelson 90, a film made during the legend’s two-day all-star concert at the Hollywood Bowl. 

Also on deck this summer is the 2023 Outlaw Festival Tour, which promises to be the biggest in franchise history in honor of Willie’s 90th. Find tour dates here.

And coming November 23, 2023, Willie’s new book, Energy Follows Thought: The Stories Behind My Songs promises to provide the stories behind the lyrics of 160 of his favorite songs, along with a dynamic assortment of never-before-seen photos and ephemera.

You can also catch Mr. Nelson at the upcoming 38th Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which will take place Friday, November 3rd at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York with an HBO broadcast to follow.


Willie Nelson – Bluegrass

  1. No Love Around
  2. Somebody Pick Up My Pieces
  3. Good Hearted Woman (cowritten with Waylon Jennings)
  4. Sad Songs And Waltzes
  5. Home Motel
  6. You Left Me A Long, Long Time Ago
  7. Yesterday’s Wine
  8. Bloody Mary Morning
  9. Slow Down Old World
  10. Still Is Still Moving To Me
  11. On The Road Again
  12. Man With The Blues


AUDIO: Willie Nelson “You Left Me A Long, Long Time Ago”



Ron Hart
Latest posts by Ron Hart (see all)

 You May Also Like

Ron Hart

Ron Hart is the Editor-in-Chief of Rock and Roll Globe. Reach him on Twitter @MisterTribune.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *