Queens of the Stone Age Announce New Album

In Times New Roman… comes out June 16th

Queens of the Stone Age (Image: Andreas Neumann)

Queens of the Stone Age have announced their long-awaited eighth studio album, In Times New Roman…, will come out June 16th on Matador Records. 

The 10-track LP is said to be the band’s most visceral work in years. 

“In Times New Roman… is raw, at times brutal and not recommended for the faint of heart,” promises the press release revealing the album’s existence. “And yet, it’s perhaps the most beautiful and definitely the most rewarding album in their epic discography. Founder Joshua Homme’s most acerbic lyrics to date are buoyed by the instantly identifiable QOTSA sonic signature, expanded and embellished with new and unprecedented twists in virtually every song. With In Times New Roman… we see that sometimes one needs to look beneath scars and scabs to see beauty, and sometimes the scabs and scars are the beauty.” 

Queens of the Stone Age In Times New Roman…, Matador Records 2023

QOTSA, comprised of Josh Homme, Troy Van Leeuwen, Dean Fertita, Michael Shuman and Jon Theodore, recorded and mixed In Times New Roman… at Homme’s own Pink Duck (RIP), with additional recording at Shangri-La. The album was produced by the band and mixed by Mark Rankin. 

Check out the tracklist:



Paper Machete

Negative Space

Time & Place

Made to Parade


What the Peephole Say


Emotion Sickness

Straight Jacket Fitting


The group recently premiered the lyric video for the LP’s lead single “Emotion Sickness,” which was created by renowned filmmaker, songwriter and puppeteer Liam Lynch. Peep it below and keep your ears open for more music to come.


VIDEO: Queens of the Stone Age “Emotion Sickness”


 You May Also Like

Ron Hart

Ron Hart is the Editor-in-Chief of Rock and Roll Globe. Reach him on Twitter @MisterTribune.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *