LISTEN: Night Crickets Emerge With “Little Did I”

New super trio featuring David J of Bauhaus/Love and Rockets fame and ex-Violent Femmes drummer Victor DeLorenzo shares first single off forthcoming debut LP

Night Crickets (Image: Omnivore Recordings)

A power trio featuring the rhythm section of Bauhaus/Love and Rockets bassist David J and former Violent Femmes drummer Victor DeLorenzo sounds like a fever dream from listening to too much WLIR in the 80s or something. 

But lo, this is indeed a real thing going down in early 2022 as Night Crickets, the brainchild of David J’s friend and manager Darwin Meiners, a formidable synthwave artist who previously collaborated with these gentlemen on his 2014 EP Souvenir.

As the pandemic took hold, Darwin was looking for a new project to occupy the lockdown time and approached Victor, who was keen to proceed and suggested that David join as well. The musical trust established among these three was immediate, and Night Crickets were born. 

“It’s just as much as a surprise to me,” DeLorenzo told Rock & Roll Globe, who admitted their excitement upon the news of this union. “I had met Darwin at the Coachella Music and Arts Festival when Violent Femmes played there in 2013. At that time he had introduced himself to me and told me he was a fan, and we turned out to have a nice little conversation and continued to grow our friendship.

“But then a year ago, Darwin called me with an idea, and asked me if I could send him some drum tracks to accompany him while writing new songs. And I said, ‘You know what Darwin, that sounds like a great idea. But how about I take it a step further, what if I send you some tracks I’ve already created in my recording studio at home, in addition to some new tracks.’ So that’s what I did, but then I added the idea of seeing if David J was available to maybe play bass and help develop some of these songs.”

Night Crickets A Free Society, Omnivore Recordings 2021

The album, entitled A Free Society, will be released on CD and Digital by Omnivore Recordings on January 21, 2022, with vinyl being released in July, featuring cover art unique to the LP.

“In a whirlwind, we just started working on this material and now we have a 13-song album,” DeLorenzo explained. “The three of us are really excited about it, because it came about in a real kismet kind of way.”

The Rock & Roll Globe is honored to premiere the first single off A Free Society entitled “Little Did I,” a long distance jam that grooves like an interdimensional Little Village if it was formed in the basement of The Pyramid Club. In other words, it’s fantastic.

“My son Malachi DeLorenzo plays alongside me on this track,” DeLorenzo tells Rock & Roll Globe. “And also David J is playing an interesting instrument here called the Redimi, which is an Indian drone instrument. It’s like this little electric box that can create drones in different keys, and David is playing it through a volume pedal. It almost sounds like a diseased clavinet or something.”

Listen to “Little Did I” and check out the tracklisting for A Free Society below.


Track list for A Free Society:

  1. Black Leather On The Inside
  2. Candlestick Park
  3. Amanda’s Mantra
  4. A Free Society
  5. Roman À Clef
  6. Soul Wave
  7. Little Did I
  8. Sloe Song
  9. The Unreliable Narrator
  10. Down Below
  11. Return To The Garden Of Allah
  12. Sacred Monster
  13. I Want My Night Crickets!


 You May Also Like

Ron Hart

Ron Hart is the Editor-in-Chief of Rock and Roll Globe. Reach him on Twitter @MisterTribune.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *