Reshaking The Money Maker

A new box set offers a trove of treasures to supplement the smash debut LP by The Black Crowes

Rich and Chris Robinson come together for Shake Your Moneymaker box set (Art: Ron Hart)

This past Friday marked the anticipated release of the 30th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition of the first Black Crowes album Shake Your Money Maker.

It’s not the best Crowes LP, not by a mile. But upon its release on February 13, 1990, Moneymaker ushered in a rush of new blood to the revived AOR format at the time. Hit songs like “Twice As Hard,” “Jealous Again,” “She Talks To Angels” and a smash cover of Otis Redding’s “Hard To Handle” were indeed a reprieve from the inundation of glam metal hard rock fans had endured for most of the mid-to-late 80s. It was released in that perfect moment before the twin tidal waves of grunge and alternative rock would wash the Hair Nation clean off the Billboard charts.

And while true Crowes fans are already wondering what the box set for 1992’s beloved The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion is gonna comprise, this luxe and deluxe edition of Shake Your Money Maker is no doubt worth the investment. 

The Super Deluxe 4LP and 3CD set was personally overseen by Chris and Rich Robinson along with original producer George Drakoulias, oversaw the creation of the re-release. In addition to a beautiful remaster of the original Def American LP and its accompanying B-sides, there are also three never-before-heard studio recordings, two unreleased demos from the band’s early incarnation as Mr. Crowe’s Garden and a 14-song unreleased concert recorded in their hometown of Atlanta, GA in December 1990.

The 30th anniversary super deluxe edition of Shake Your Money Maker is available now all all your favorite music outlets.

Black Crowes Shake Your Money Maker: 30th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition, UMe 2021

30th Anniversary – 4LP Box Tracklisting:

LP 1: Shake Your Money Maker (2020 Remaster)

Side One:

1 Twice As Hard

2 Jealous Again

3 Sister Luck

4 Could I’ve Been So Blind

5 Seeing Things


Side Two:

1 Hard To Handle

2 Thick N’ Thin

3 She Talks To Angels

4 Struttin’ Blues

5 Stare It Cold

6 Mercy, Sweet Moan


LP 2: More Money Maker: Unreleased Songs and B-Sides

 Side One:

1 Charming Mess

2 30 Days In The Hole

3 Don’t Wake Me

4 Jealous Guy

5 Waitin’ Guilty


Side Two:

1 Hard To Handle (With Horns Remix)

2 Jealous Again (Acoustic Version)

3 She Talks To Angels (Acoustic Version)

4 She Talks To Angels (Mr. Crowe’s Garden Demo)

5 Front Porch Sermon (Mr. Crowe’s Garden Demo)


LP3 and 4 The Homecoming Concert: Atlanta, GA December 1990

 Side One:

1 Introduction

2 Thick N’ Thin

3 You’re Wrong

4 Twice As Hard

5 Could I’ve Been So Blind

6 Seeing Things For The First Time


Side Two:

1 She Talks To Angels

2 Sister Luck

3 Hard To Handle

4 Shake ‘Em On Down/Get Back


Side Three:

1 Struttin’ Blues

2 Words You Throw Away


Side Four:

1 Stare It Cold

2 Jealous Again


 You May Also Like

Ron Hart

Ron Hart is the Editor-in-Chief of Rock and Roll Globe. Reach him on Twitter @MisterTribune.

2 thoughts on “Reshaking The Money Maker

  • March 31, 2021 at 7:20 pm

    Great article Ron!!

    • March 31, 2021 at 9:53 pm

      Thanks Bro!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *