WATCH: Arizona Rockers Juarez and Others Honor Homicide Survivors 10 Years After the Tucson Gun Massacre

The Rock & Roll Globe is proud to premiere the latest single from the forthcoming benefit album, which also includes material from Calexico, Dr. Dog, Amos Lee and more

Luz De Vida II will be in stores on November 5th (Image: Sweetheart PR)

The original Luz de Vida project began in the days after the tragic January 8, 2011 shooting that killed six people and injured 19 others, including Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords in Tucson,  Arizona.

It was the some of the first shots fired in the bloodiest, deadliest decade for domestic terrorism in American history–a direct result of Washington allowing the crucial 1994 Assault Weapons Ban to lapse, giving any moron with a gun license through ability to buy the very semiautomatics white people were so afraid of when cats like Biggie and Onyx were rhyming about them in the early-to-mid 90s. 


VIDEO: Gabby Giffords and Mark Kelly appeared on NBC’s Today ten years after her near-fatal shooting

And while the massacre at that Safeway plaza–which included the killing of a nine-year-old girl–no doubt shook the entire nation, it primarily] rattled the local Tucson community. Days after the tragedy, a coalition of local and national music acts came together to form the Luz de Vida project, raising over $20,000 to provide aid and comfort to the victims and their families via what was then called the Tucson Together Fund (it is currently known as Tucson’s Homicide Survivors, Inc.)

The original Tucson Together Fund ceased in 2013 and since then, funds have been donated to Tucson’s Homicide Survivors, Inc. For the 10th anniversary of the tragedy, members of the original Luz de Vida production team (a coalition of Tucson writers, recording engineers, musicians, and artists) are partnering with Homicide Survivors and JFCS of Southern Arizona to release a second compilation record. Again, featuring Tucson and national artists and released on Fort Lowell Records, Luz de Vida II will be released in November to coincide with the All Soul’s Procession, an annual community ceremony in celebration and mourning of the lives of our loved ones and ancestors.


Dig the tracklist:

  1. Calexico — “Wash (La Luz Brillante)”
  2. Tracy Shedd — “Chasing Time”
  3. Clap Your Hands Say Yeah — “Thousand Oaks (Luz de Vida)”
  4. Juarez — “Ghosts in the Room”
  5. L’Orange — “A Rich Life & Longing”
  6. Dr. Dog — “Loneliness”
  7. Gabriel Naïm Amor — “La Nuit Pour Nous Deux”
  8. Acorn Bcorn — “Scraps”
  9. XIXA — “Crystal Road (Luz de Vida)”
  10. The Resonars — “It’s the Same”
  11. Hannah Yeun — “All That Matters is the Wind”
  12. Soda Sun — “Grape Juice”
  13. Amos Lee — “El Camino (Solo Acoustic)”


Ahead of the November 5 release of Fort Lowell Records’ compilation album Luz de Vida II: A Compilation to Benefit Homicide Survivors, we are honored to premiere the new single from the album, the Crimson-esque rocker from Tucson’s own Juarez entitled “Ghosts in the Room” accompanied by its video featuring the stunning animation of Rudy Flores.

Juarez (Image: Sweetheart PR)

100% of proceeds from the record will go to Tucson’s Homicide Survivors Inc, a non-profit organization that’s helping meet the crisis and long-term needs of families of murder victims through support, advocacy, and assistance.

Preorder the album here.


VIDEO: Juarez “Ghosts in the Room”

 You May Also Like

Ron Hart

Ron Hart is the Editor-in-Chief of Rock and Roll Globe. Reach him on Twitter @MisterTribune.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *