The Beach Boys Share Dolby Atmos Mix of Pet Sounds

Rediscover the band’s studio masterpiece like never before

Pet Sounds photo shoot (Image: Capitol Records)

A Dolby Atmos mix of The Beach Boys’ 1966 studio masterpiece Pet Sounds is available now on select streaming services.

Helmed by second generation producer Giles Martin, son of Sir George Martin of Beatles fame, this new mix offers a listening experience like never before in the context of Pet Sounds. It’s been Giles who has been pioneering the Atmos experience into the realm of popular music through his celebrated work on the catalog of The Beatles. In fact, the surviving members of The Beach Boys personally asked the younger Martin to mix Pet Sounds. He was then given access to the original analog tapes and built this immersive new mix from the ground up using Brian Wilson’s original 1966 mono mix and Mark Linett’s subsequent 1997 stereo mix as guides. 

“Pet Sounds by The Beach Boys is a game changing, iconic album that changed the face of popular music,” said Giles Martin. “It influenced The Beatles to go and make Sgt. Pepper’s, Sgt. Pepper’s then influenced Pink Floyd to go and make The Dark Side of the Moon. It’s a fascinating record because it’s really the workings of a genius, Brian Wilson, that sort of had boundless enthusiasm for ideas and textures. Moving Pet Sounds to Dolby Atmos means those worlds can be fully immersive, you can be surrounded by them, you can hear instruments that you never heard before, that are on the record, but they are now in a space where you can identify them. I kind of like the idea of imagine getting an old vinyl record, like Alice In Wonderland, and slowly start falling through the hole. That’s what immersive audio should do, you are literally surrounded by the records you love, and Pet Sounds is perfect for this. It’s an album of so much color and texture and imagination and the imagination becomes realized much more in the spatial realm. For me to be asked by The Beach Boys to work on this album was a huge honor, I was surprised and excited to get a chance to work on one of the most iconic albums of all time.”

The Beach Boys Pet Sounds: Dolby Atmos Mix, Capitol Records 1966/2023

Nearly six decades since its original release on May 16, 1966, Pet Sounds remains a masterpiece of modern music whose reach continues to grow into Gen Z’s discovery of the album. With the new Dolby Atmos mix, everyone from the newest fan to the old head who’s had it in his stacks since ’66 can listen to The Beach Boys’ animal adventure with a new sense of clarity and detail. 

For fans of both The Beatles and The Beach Boys, hearing Pet Sounds remixed by a Martin is something of a dream scenario given Sir George’s deep admiration for the record, proving to be an inspiration for the Fabs’ own conceptual classic Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. 

“I remember when I first started becoming sort of interested in music,” Giles said at a press-only listening event this past Tuesday. “I was with my dad on a plane. And I said to him, ‘It’s pretty amazing what you do with The Beatles.’ And he said to me, ‘Not as amazing as what Brian Wilson did, because I had The Beatles, and they had me, and he was just Brian Wilson.”



  1. Wouldn’t It Be Nice
  2. You Still Believe In Me
  3. That’s Not Me
  4. Don’t Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder)
  5. I’m Waiting For The Day
  6. Let’s Go Away For Awhile
  7. Sloop John B
  8. God Only Knows
  9. I Know There’s An Answer
  10. Here Today
  11. I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times
  12. Pet Sounds
  13. Caroline, No


VIDEO: The Beach Boys “Sloop John B”


Ron Hart

 You May Also Like

Ron Hart

Ron Hart is the Editor-in-Chief of Rock and Roll Globe. Reach him on Twitter @MisterTribune.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *